JACK AND TERRIZITA ARE IN BRAZIL


JACK AND TERRIZITA ARE IN BRAZIL

in the heat of the day
the pavement swells
and the city smells
and at every turn there is a surprise
as the reflection off windshields
stabs you in the eyes
the streets ring with tunes of dubious choice
but then
everyone needs a voice
the Friday traffic crawls along the street
looking for things to do and people to meet
a man talking to his laptop screen
riding the rocket
and talking to his pocket
but I have no conversation
so who am I to mock it
my heart is half a country away
and I talked to them today
two weeks en famille
were not enough for me
the people outside are getting scat
from a flying rat
there are few places you can go
these days
to avoid the guano
applause from the spectators helps the cause
what a show off
that’s what I am
and frankly Scarlet
I don’t give a damn
and I’ll take this life
and drink my fill
cause dear friends
Jack and Terrizita
are in Brazil

JWL

Leave a Reply

