AN UNCERTAIN STEP INTO THE FUTURE

Image

AN UNCERTAIN STEP INTO THE FUTURE

 

Who knows where today is going

the future is an unknown void

we hurl ourselves into every living second

before we too become mere memories

there is a pregnant pause

when we pause to think the lines

further down the electronic page

on both elbows starring at the screen

in the near future a friend

will arrive to give me a ride

to a celebration of life

for a friend who is now mere memory

I ponder what to wear

as if it were somehow important

with two hands on my unshaven morning face

with the scent of over night armpits assaulting my nostrils

perhaps a shower and shave

will banish this somber mood

and I can prepare myself

for something bad or good

I’ll lay out  the clothes to be worn

and shine my shoes

and select a tie

to pay my dues to the blues

the future waits for no man

we do good or bad because we can

and no one wants to be labeled

an also ran

JWL

One response to “AN UNCERTAIN STEP INTO THE FUTURE

Leave a Reply

