FADE TO BLACK

FADE TO BLACK

there is jumble of words
swirling around in my brain
and like bubbles in the toilet bowl
they burst and go down the drain

it seems my best line occur
only when there is no keyboard
or pen and paper at hand
and the words disappear into never never land

a friend died this week
and my emotions are fragile and bleak
the icy macho thing about being a man
is absent an absolute also ran

my dark glasses I fear
will not disguise my tears
a scene, a song, a picture, a voice on the phone
reminds me that I’m not alone

where there is life
there is hope
and even for those who have gone on before
we have things to do before we too

fade to black

JWL

Leave a Reply

