DREAM NINETEEN

Image

 

 

DREAM NINETEEN

 

a mind tweak

and I’m on the road again

when my life was like the wind

there was noting to hold it down

 

off in a day dream

pen stilled

and my

forty mile stare in place

 

and no one knows

where I am

from the look

on my face

 

the world passes you cannot stop time

my mind is on the road again

with the echoes of my exhaust

following me up the canyons of memory

 

the words fall easily onto the page

and I have passed the border

of thundering silence

and pause to take my jacket off

 

trucks block the view

and I plan to ride my cycle

long dead in a scrap heap

sentenced to death

 

by a drunken escapade

two years before

my enlightenment

and temperate persuasion 

 

it wasn’t all bad

it had its moments of fun

but it was  not all cherry pie

and my choice was quit or die

 

qiit to buy time

quit to get from there to here

quit  perhaps to delay

the inevitable

 

in my mind I’m still

that nineteen year old boy

striking off into the adventure of manhood

but never really leaving that boy

 

so here I am

seventy five years down the road

striking a pose

dreaming

 

JWL Ó 23/03/2012

 

 

One response to “DREAM NINETEEN

Leave a Reply

